Go to footer

Help needed with some dds files

Get help and share your knowledge on these topics

Help needed with some dds files

Postby phantom » 15.11.2015, 09:42

Hi.

I made some screenies :

Image Image Image

Those are the dds files stadiumroadborder.
First is the D , second the N and last the S.

My question is how to create those last two ?
Use they some kind of filter ?

I'm a bit new to photoshop . lol , I'm new to modding too but would like to learn.
Any help is welkom.

Thanks
phantom

Re: Help needed with some dds files

Postby phantom » 16.11.2015, 17:17

Uhm , anyone still active here ?
phantom

Postby N00BYZOR » 16.11.2015, 18:01

Hey ! :)

First off, just for you to know D, N and S stands for Diffuse, Normal and Specular. Those are the main 3 textures to make a shader, the old way ^^
Diffuse is the base color.
The normal map will simulate the relief of you diffuse.
And the specular is the glare color.

So now to make a normal map, you can either use the nvidia normal map plugin for photoshop (that is free), or Quixel nDo2 (that is not free ^^ but you probably can get it somewhere for free though, i won't say more ^^).
Also there are some other software that can do pretty much the same, like crazy bump, but I don't know much about them.

For the specular, playing around with levels and adjustment layers sometimes do the job, depending on what you want as a result.
Just remember the lighter the specular is, the brighter the glare in game will be.

You can find some good tutorials about that on google, but don't hesitate to ask here for any further help ;)

Greets
N00BYZOR
N00BYZOR

Postby phantom » 17.11.2015, 17:06

Thanks for helping out here , quite usefull info.

Gonna work on it .
phantom

Postby phantom » 17.11.2015, 22:07

uhm , how save , I mean DXT1 no alfa or 1 bit alfa or DX5 ?

When I save them wrong the game adds a white alfa layer to it.

thats weird.
phantom

Postby popgun » 17.11.2015, 23:07